Relocating their upcoming round of 16 Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League 2018 matches

The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) announced today the approval of site change requests made by FC Motagua and CD Olimpia, relocating their upcoming round of 16 Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League 2018 matches.

Following the approval of the CONCACAF Council to move the matches, and an approval process for the alternate sites and stadiums as submitted to CONCACAF by the clubs, FC Motagua will host Liga MX side Club Tijuana at the HEB Park, in Edinburg, TX, on Wednesday, February 21 at 10:00 PM ET (9:00 PM local).

The next day, Thursday, February 22, CD Olimpia will face the New York Red Bulls at Estadio Nacional in San Jose, Costa Rica. That match will kick off at 10:00 PM ET (9:00 PM local) behind closed doors, as part of an on-going sanction against the club levied during the 2017 Scotiabank CONCACAF League.

The two matches have been moved from Honduras due to the political and social situation that has affected the country in recent months. The schedule for the second leg matches to be played at Estadio Caliente in Tijuana, Mexico and the Red Bull Arena remains as previously announced.

The requests to move the matches, made individually by each club, were approved by the CONCACAF Council per section XVII. A. of the 2018 Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League Regulations, which deals with cases of force majeure. Per the Council decision, should either Honduran club advance to the quarterfinals of the 2018 Champions League, those matches would also be played outside Honduras, allowing time for the situation in that country to stabilize.

The two relocated matches are among the eight contests scheduled for the opening week, as the Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League kicks off across the Confederation. The second leg Round of 16 matches will be played the following week, February 27 to Match 1.

The range of dates for the first leg quarterfinals, to be disputed among the eight Round of 16 winners, is March 6-8. The second leg quarterfinals are scheduled for 13-15. The semifinals and championship home-and-away final of the competition are scheduled for April.

The winner of the 2018 Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League will represent the region in the 2018 FIFA Club World Cup, which will take place in the United Arab Emirates.

2018 Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League – Round of 16 Schedule
*ET and home team listed first

Tuesday, February 20, 2018

  • 20:00 CS Herediano (CRC) vs. Tigres UANL (MEX)
  • 22:00 Colorado Rapids (USA) vs. Toronto FC (CAN)

Wednesday, February 21, 2018

  • 20:00 Deportivo Saprissa (CRC) vs. Club America (MEX)
  • 20:00 Tauro FC (PAN) vs. FC Dallas (USA)
  • 22:00 FC Motagua (HON) vs. Club Tijuana (MEX)

Thursday, February 22, 2018

  • 20:00 Cibao FC (DOM) vs. CD Guadalajara (MEX)
  • 22:00 CD Olimpia (HON) vs. New York Red Bulls (USA)
  • 22:00 Santa Tecla FC (SLV) vs. Seattle Sounders FC (USA)

Tuesday, February 27, 2018

  • 20:00 Toronto FC (CAN) vs. Colorado Rapids (USA)
  • 20:00 Tigres UANL (MEX) vs. CS Herediano (CRC)
  • 22:00 Club Tijuana (MEX) vs. FC Motagua (HON)

Wednesday, February 28, 2018

  • 20:00 FC Dallas (USA) vs. Tauro FC (PAN)
  • 20:00 CD Guadalajara (MEX) vs. Cibao FC (DOM)
  • 22:00 Club America (MEX) vs. Deportivo Saprissa (CRC)

Thursday, March 1, 2018

  • 20:00 New York Red Bulls (USA) vs. CD Olimpia (HON)
  • 22:00 Seattle Sounders FC (USA) vs. Santa Tecla FC (SLV)

Home Stadium for the Round of 16 Matches
*Listed in alphabetical order

  • CD Guadalajara (MEX) – Estadio Akron, Guadalajara, Mexico
  • CD Olimpia (HON) – Estadio Nacional, San Jose, Costa Rica
  • Cibao FC (DOM) – Estadio Cibao FC, Santiago, Dominican Republic
  • Club America (MEX) – Estadio Azteca, Mexico City, Mexico
  • Club Tijuana (MEX) – Estadio Caliente, Tijuana, Mexico
  • Colorado Rapids (USA) – Dick's Sporting Goods Park, Commerce City, CO, USA
  • CS Herediano (CRC) – Estadio Eladio Rosabal Cordero, Heredia, Costa Rica
  • Deportivo Saprissa (CRC) – Estadio Ricardo Saprissa Ayma, San Jose, Costa Rica
  • FC Dallas (USA) – Toyota Stadium, Frisco, TX, USA
  • FC Motagua (HON) – HEB Park, Edinburg, TX, USA
  • New York Red Bulls (USA) – Red Bull Arena, Harrison, NJ, USA
  • Santa Tecla FC (SLV) – Estadio Las Delicias, Santa Tecla, El Salvador
  • Seattle Sounders FC (USA) – CenturyLink Field, Seattle, WA, USA
  • Tauro FC (PAN) – Estadio Rommel Fernandez, Panama City, Panama
  • Tigres UANL (MEX) – Estadio Universitario, Monterrey, Mexico
  • Toronto FC (CAN) – BMO Field, Toronto, ON, Canada



Sharing information from various media outlets.

comments powered by Disqus