Earthquakes Announce Roster Moves Ahead of 2019 MLS Season


The San Jose Earthquakes released some information on roster moves. Now the question lingers: What plans does Matias Almeyda have and how many new faces will we see in 2019. My prediction is that we will see a new Striker and defensive midfielders. At some point the San Jose Earth Quakes will have to look for a new goalie as none of the players now have a guaranteed spot.

In other news, the San Jose Earthquakes release information on a season ticket pass that allows one to come to all the games and enjoy the match at the terrace.

Designed for the devoted fan that wants to be a part of the Earthquakes matchday experience all season long, the Quakes’ new Terrace Pass grants access to each of the 20 home matches in 2019 for just $250. The pass is offered on a standing-room-only basis for all 19 matches at Avaya Stadium, providing an alternative for fans who want to support the team from either the TCL 4K Bar or Supporters’ Terrace.

More information on roster moves as provided by the San Jose Earthquakes news update (link to original article below):

The San Jose Earthquakes announced today that the club has exercised 2019 contract options on five players: goalkeeper Matt Bersano and defenders Harold Cummings, Paul Marie, Jimmy Ockford and Kevin Partida.

The Earthquakes will not exercise options on five players: defender Yeferson Quintana; midfielders Jahmir Hyka and Chris Wehan; and forwards Danny Musovski and Mohamed Thiaw.

The following players are under contract for the 2019 season: goalkeepers JT Marcinkowski and Andrew Tarbell; defenders Francois Affolter, Jacob Akanyirige, Guram Kashia, Nick Lima, Joel Qwiberg and Shea Salinas; midfielders Eric Calvillo, Magnus Eriksson, Luis Felipe, Gilbert Fuentes, Anibal Godoy, Florian Jungwirth, Tommy Thompson, Vako and Jackson Yueill; and forwards Danny Hoesen and Chris Wondolowski.

The following player is not under contract for the 2019 season: forward Dominic Oduro.

Danny Hoesen, Nick Lima, Florian Jungwirth, Shea Salinas, Andrew Tarbell, Tommy Thompson and Chris Wondolowski all received new contracts, had their 2019 options exercised or had their 2019 options automatically vest by reaching certain performance thresholds during the 2018 season.

The San Jose Earthquakes current roster heading into 2019, listed alphabetically by position, is below:

Goalkeepers (3): Matt Bersano, JT Marcinkowski, Andrew Tarbell

Defenders (10): Francois Affolter, Jacob Akanyirige, Harold Cummings, Guram Kashia, Nick Lima, Paul Marie, Jimmy Ockford, Kevin Partida, Joel Qwiberg, Shea Salinas

Midfielders (9): Eric Calvillo, Magnus Eriksson, Luis Felipe, Gilbert Fuentes, Anibal Godoy, Florian Jungwirth, Tommy Thompson, Vako, Jackson Yueill

Forwards (2): Danny Hoesen, Chris Wondolowski

There will be a half-day trade window on Sunday, Dec. 9 from 6-10 a.m. PT, in which clubs may sign and trade both non-Re-Entry Draft eligible and Re-Entry Draft eligible players.

The 2018 MLS Expansion Draft will take place on Tuesday, Dec. 11 at 11 a.m. PT. FC Cincinnati may select up to five players from the eligible MLS player pool. Only a single player can be drafted from any one club, with Columbus, San Jose, Seattle, Sporting KC and Toronto FC all protected after losing a player to LAFC last year.

Free Agency begins at noon on Tuesday, Dec. 11, following the Expansion Draft. Out of Contract and Option Decline players that were at least 28 years old during the 2018 season and have at least eight years of MLS service are eligible for Free Agency.

The 2018 MLS Waiver Draft takes places on Wednesday, Dec. 12 at 1 p.m. PT. Consisting of players who have been waived by clubs and do not meet minimum requirement for Re-Entry Draft or Free Agency, the draft is conducted in reverse order of 2018 season finish, taking into account postseason performance, with expansion side FC Cincinnati picking last.

Stage One of the Re-Entry Draft will take place on Friday, Dec. 14 at 12 p.m. PT and Stage Two of the Re-Entry Draft will take place on Thursday, Dec. 20 at 11 a.m. PT. The two drafts will take place via teleconference with all 24 clubs represented. MLS will release the results following each of the calls. The Re-Entry Draft (both stages) is conducted in reverse order of 2018 season finish, taking into account postseason performance, with expansion club FC Cincinnati selecting last.

Transaction: San Jose Earthquakes (MLS) – Earthquakes will exercise 2019 contract options on GK Matt Bersano, D Harold Cummings, D Paul Marie, D Jimmy Ockford and D Kevin Partida. Earthquakes will not exercise 2019 contract options on D Yeferson Quintana, M Jahmir Hyka, M Chris Wehan, F Danny Musovski and F Mohamed Thiaw.

Original Article published here:

comments powered by Disqus