Draw Reveals Groups for the 2018 Concacaf Women’s Championship

The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (Concacaf) today conducted the official draw for the 2018 Concacaf Women’s Championship, at the Univision Deportes Studios, in Miami, FL.

The 2018 edition of the women’s championship, scheduled to take place October 4-17, 2018, will be disputed in two rounds. After round-robin play in Cary, NC and Edinburg, TX, the two group winners, plus the two second-place finishers will advance to the knockout round. The semifinals, third place match and final will take place at the Toyota Stadium, in Frisco, TX.

The live event, which sorted the eight participating teams into two groups, was hosted by Univision’s Adriana Monsalve and featured remarks by Concacaf General Secretary Philippe Moggio. Head of Concacaf Women’s Football and former Canadian international Karina LeBlanc conducted the draw.

As host and highest ranked nation, in the newly announced Concacaf Women’s Ranking, the United States was seeded into position A1, while Canada, as the second best ranked nation, was placed in position B1. The remaining six teams were placed in three pots and sorted using a double-blind system.

The groups for the 2018 Concacaf Women’s Championship are as follows:

Group A
United States
Trinidad & Tobago

Group B
Costa Rica

The complete schedule of matches can be found here and below.

In the last edition of the Concacaf Women’s Championship, the United States overcame Costa Rica 6-0 in the final to win its seventh title.

Cary, NC
Tickets for the doubleheaders on Oct. 4, 7 and 10 in Cary, N.C., are on sale through ussoccer.com and by phone at 1-800-745-3000. Tickets will not be sold at the stadium except on the day of each event.

comments powered by Disqus