Draw Reveals Groups for 2020 Concacaf Men’s Olympic Qualifying Championship

The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (Concacaf) today conducted the official draw for the 2020 Concacaf Men’s Olympic Qualifying Championship, at the Akron Stadium, in Guadalajara, Mexico.

The event, which featured remarks from Concacaf General Secretary Philippe Moggio and Governor of Jalisco Enrique Alfaro Ramirez, was conducted by Concacaf Director of Competitions Carlos Fernandez, with the assistance of TUDN Host Gina Holguín, Olympic Gold medalist Oribe Peralta and the Head Coach of CD Guadalajara Luis Fernando Tena.

The groups for the 2020 Concacaf Men’s Olympic Qualifying Championship are as follows:

Group A
A1: Mexico
A3: Costa Rica
A4: Dominican Republic

Group B
B1: Honduras
B2: Canada
B3: El Salvador
B4: Haiti

The 2020 Concacaf Men’s Olympic Qualifying tournament will kick off with an initial group stage between March 20 – 27. After group stage round-robin play, the top two finishers from each group will move on to the semifinals. The semifinal matches, which will determine the two qualified teams to the Olympics, will be played at the Estadio Jalisco, on Monday, March 30. The final match, between the semifinal winners, will be played at the Akron Stadium, on Wednesday, April 1.

  • The complete 2020 Concacaf Men’s Olympic Qualifying Championship schedule is available here and below.
  • Tickets to all matches are available by visiting www.ticketmaster.com.mx. Fans will be able to follow all the action through the Confederation’s partner networks, including TUDN (Mexico), One Soccer (Canada), Flow Sports (Caribbean) and other local partners. For other territories, the event will be available on Concacaf GO (subject to territory restrictions).

    2020 Concacaf Men’s Olympic Qualifying Tournament

    Tournament Dates: March 20 – April 1, 2020

    Host Venues: Jalisco Stadium and Akron Stadium, in Guadalajara, Mexico

    Participating Teams (listed in alphabetical order): Canada, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico and the United States.

    Competition Format: The eight participating teams have been sorted into two groups of four teams. After round-robin play, the first and second place finishers of each group will advance to the semifinals. The semifinal winners will automatically qualify for the tournament’s final, as well as the Men’s Olympic Football Tournament Tokyo 2020.

    *Kick off times to be confirmed and order of the matches subject to change

    Friday, March 20, 2020 – Jalisco Stadium
    01: USA vs Costa Rica
    02: Mexico vs Dominican Republic

    Saturday, March 21, 2020 – Jalisco Stadium
    03: Canada vs El Salvador
    04: Honduras vs Haiti

    Monday, March 23, 2020 – Akron Stadium
    05: Dominican Republic vs USA
    06: Costa Rica vs Mexico

    Tuesday, March 24, 2020 – Akron Stadium
    07: Haiti vs Canada
    08: El Salvador vs Honduras

    Thursday, March 26, 2020 – Jalisco Stadium
    09: Costa Rica vs Dominican Republic
    10: Mexico vs USA

    Friday, March 27, 2020 – Jalisco Stadium
    11: El Salvador vs Haiti
    12: Honduras vs Canada

    Monday, March 30, 2020 – Jalisco Stadium
    13: 1B vs 2A
    14: 1A vs 2B

    Wednesday, April 1, 2020 – Akron Stadium
    15: Winner 13 vs Winner 14



Sharing information from various media outlets.

comments powered by Disqus