Update: 2018 CONCACAF Women’s Under-17 Championship Nicaragua

The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) confirmed today the programming for the official draw of the 2018 CONCACAF Women’s Under-17 Championship Nicaragua.

The draw, which will be held at the CONCACAF Headquarters, in Miami Beach, FL and will sort the eight qualified nations into two groups of four teams, will be broadcast on Wednesday, January 31 at 3:00 PM ET on www.CONCACAF.com.

The CONCACAF Women’s Under-17 Championship will include a field of eight teams. From Central America, Nicaragua will participate as host, along with Costa Rica, first place finisher of the 2017 CONCACAF Central America Women’s Under-17 Qualifier.

Three teams from North America will compete – Canada, Mexico and United States – as well as Haiti, Bermuda and Puerto Rico, as the three top finishers from the 2017 CONCACAF Caribbean Women’s Under-17 Qualifier.

The draw will be conducted using six pots. Pots 1, 2, 3 and 4 will be the “Team Pots,” and will contain the names of the Participating Member Associations. Pots A and B, “Group Position Pots,” will be used to sort the participating clubs into the positions in the groups.

For the draw, host country, Nicaragua will be seeded in Group A, position A1, while the United States, defending champion at this age level will be seeded in Group B, position B1. The six additional Participating Member Associations will be ranked according to their performance in the last five editions of the CONCACAF Women’s Under-17 Championship.

The draw will begin by drawing the Pot 1 seeded teams into their Group positions. Then a sphere from Pot 2 will be drawn, followed by sphere from Pot A to determine the Group A position. The second sphere from Pot 2 will be drawn, followed by the group position from Pot B. The same will be done with all the spheres from Pots 3 and 4, alternating between Pot A and B to determine the group positions. Per the competition regulations, there cannot be three Caribbean teams, two (2) Central American teams and/or three (3) North American teams in the same group.

CONCACAF Women’s Under-17 Championship Nicaragua 2018
Date: April 19 - 29, 2018
Site: Managua, Nicaragua
Teams: 8
Caribbean (3): Bermuda, Haiti and Puerto Rico
Central America (2): Costa Rica and Nicaragua
North America (3): Canada, Mexico and United States

Number of teams to qualify for the World Cup: 3 (Champion, runner-up and third place)

Competition Format: The eight participating teams will be sorted into two groups of four for the Group Stage. After round-robin play, the two group winners, plus the two second-place finishers will advance to the semifinals. The semifinal winners will automatically qualify to the championship final and the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup. The semifinal losers will dispute the tournament’s third place match for the last available ticket to the World Cup.

This article was distributed by CONCACAF



Sharing information from various media outlets.

comments powered by Disqus